VRH writathon

Agreed several weeks ago to participate in a writing marathon (writathon). I’m told it involves 50 prompts – literary fireworks – dispatched at intervals over a 12 hour period and it’s happening tomorrow. It’s in aid of Volunteer Reading Help (VRH), a national charity that ‘helps disadvantaged children develop a love of reading and learning’. The best work will be published in an anthology, available spring 2009 and all profits go to VRH. Co-incidentally I started volunteering at a local school the week before last. I spend one morning a week listening to year 4 children read. Most of them can, but I had forgotten how lovely eight year olds could be and I’ve enjoyed reading with them. I’ll report back on the writathon when my fingers have recovered (optimistically – Sunday?).

