Conflict, tension and resolution

mmu

Image location: Manchester Metropolitan University

Took the train to Manchester on Saturday for a creative writing tutorial at MMU.

Played status games (I was a number 5) – we all ignored 10, but felt compassionate towards number 2 who was a victim, we felt of social injustice.

We learned about dramatic structure and how to use it in screenplays, how to create conflict, contrast and dramatic tension.

In groups we wrote the opening scene for an extreme situation. Ours was located on a station platform. This was appropriate given that I’d had to stand up all the way there. This created some tension, if not for me then for other people on the train – one of whom was clearly claustrophobic – but it gave me something interesting to write about.

The resolution? Oh, I finished NANO (reached 50k yesterday) though I’m continuing to the end of November. Yikes. Can’t believe I said that! Link to my NANO page here.

2 Comments

  1. Congratulations on reaching (and indeed surpassing) the 50K mark! I just hope you remembered to get your certificate! Will we be seeing this novel anytime soon?

    Sadly, when it comes to the trains, I can only speak from experience. They are a constant source of tension, usually with a distinct lack of resolution! At least it all makes for good reading.

    Like

  2. Thanks – just about finished, got to 61k a few moments ago and will submit tomorrow and collect my winners goodies! Think ‘anytime soon’ might be optimistic, but in the forseeable future would be a lovely thought!

    It’ll be good to start editing and writing something shorter – like this blog (a huge relief!).

    Like

Comments are closed.