Just one book

salt_40 I discovered Salt Publishing a couple of years ago when I was researching potential (and at that time, theoretical) outlets for a creative writing project I was doing at university. I liked the style of their operation – the type of books they were publishing, even harboured a faint ambition that one day I might submit my work to them.

Though I didn’t buy one of their books, I came across Chris Hamilton-Emery on FB, was directed to the site this year by a tutor who recommended I read David Gaffney‘s micro-fiction and Vanessa Gebbie‘s short stories. I also wanted to read Tania Hershman’s The White Road & Other Stories.

I’ve been following the viral campaign on Facebook and latterly via friends on Twitter to ‘Save Salt – buy just ONE book’ – and as I was in a position to this week, have bought not one but two – wanted to buy three, but hopefully they’ll still be around next month when I can afford the one I want. Meanwhile the media have picked up on the campaign and the BookSeller reports that Salt have so far made up 20k of their 55k losses. This is good news, not just for Salt, but for readers and writers of poetry and short fiction.

Just in case you were wondering, these are the two I’ve bought:

1844712923 9781844714759frcvr.qxd

If you haven’t already, you can buy online at Salt Publishing or from booksellers nationwide.

4 Comments

  1. Thanks for sharing – I have already found a few books I want to buy and I will definitely be buying at least one. Let me know what you think of The White Road – that collection looks really interesting.

    Like

Comments are closed.