NaNoWriMo update …

nano_09_blk_participant_120x90.png6060

Fourth day in and I didn’t begin today until thirty minutes ago but am already 472 words up on yesterday with a total so far of 6060, on target for finishing 28 November. I’ve approached the whole thing in a much more laid back way – last year, my first – I’d no idea if I’d have the stamina or the words even to write 50,000. As it was, I wrote far more and in only three weeks, though once I stopped, that was it, finished.

This time I’m doing other things besides NaNo. Lots of people doing it have full time jobs, children – I don’t have those responsibilities now, so can afford to limit the time I spend writing and do other things like the monthly preparation of reviews and author interviews for The Short Review. Today I’ve prepared three author interviews, Richard Lange, Regi Claire and Ellis Sharp – make really interesting reading, oh … and changed the bed, done two lots of washing … umm, set up digibox with OH (it’s digital switchover day in Granada TV land) so we can watch all the programmes we’ve not been able to watch while we only had terrestrial TV. What has this all got to do with NaNo? Not a lot – but it’s so easy to use up time doing even minor domestic things. OK, now I really am going to stop and find out what my character is going to get up to next …

