Gazelle Impala (no longer) for sale

The Gazelle is a classic Dutch bicycle and a grand bike. I bought it (new) in York at Cycle Heaven, took it on a few wonderful trips round the city and along the river Ouse before I put it in mothballs.

So why would I do that? I’d love to be able to say it was nothing to do with cycling but it was and yes, it involved a 999 call and a trip to A&E but in retrospect I wasn’t fit enough to cycle up a 1:3 hill on a hot summer day so can only blame myself, not the bike!

Anyway, for those still reading, it’s got a 21″ (53cm) frame, a Brooks leather saddle and an integral bike lock. It has 7 gears and Shimano brakes. It’s got a panier rack on the back, and almost-brand-new tyres, and I don’t really want to sell it, but I could do with the space – and the cash – for more important things like books and stuff.

How much am I selling it for? I’d be happy to consider offers over £350, but you’d have to come and pick it up yourself, so it would help if you lived in Lancashire, because that’s where the bike is.

£350 is a pretty good price for one that costs around £600-£700 new. You can’t just give a bike like this away. It would be wrong. If you want to know more, email me at dot7seven (at) gmail (dot) com. It’s probably the best second-hand bicycle you’ll come across. Really.

Links

Gazelle 2010 (new) price list

Cycle Heaven

Matt Seaton’s Top Ten books about cycling in the Guardian

9 Comments

  1. I possessed a Gazelle Impala for one year, and I am really happy to have had one. It is a great bicycle, and the best city bike I’ve ever had a chance to ride. I wish you to sell it to good people.

    Like

Comments are closed.