What I’m reading …

It’s been a long while since I’ve read a book that has compelled me to keep reading it; and by that I mean – in bed, while eating breakfast, lunch, and all the moments in between. This is my third DeLillo book. I loved White Noise. Gave up reading Underworld twice, once at the end of the first chapter, the second time, at the half-way point – a real dilemma – but when I started thinking it would have benefited from editing, I had to put it back on the shelf.

Falling Man is different. First, it’s more compact (half the length of Underworld) and there are only a few characters (unlike Underworld) which makes it easier to track who’s doing what (DeLillo writes in a fragmented way, which is something I love, but there’s always a moment at the beginning of a new section when you have to figure out who it’s about). I enjoyed the domestic focus of this novel which brings the ‘raw terror’ of the 9/11 attacks into sharp focus. I read this book in three days. It’s a library copy but I’m going to order a copy for myself and read it again. Yes, it’s that good!

Reviews:

NY Times

Guardian

Times Online

