Reading at night …

For me reading books is a night-time thing. I read news or non-fiction – online mostly – during the day. I can’t quite overcome the ‘guilt’ thing, the stupid bit of my head that nudges the bulky yet largely ineffective ‘work ethic’ bit and says – no, that (fiction or non-fiction) is just too enjoyable, save it till later, wait until your eyes are bleeding and your brain’s about to fry then you can read a few pages before you drop off to sleep.

It wasn’t always like this. In my twenties I was a freelance designer and when I wasn’t working I’d read all day every day. I remember six blissful (work-free) weeks when I read over 40 books. A whole book every day for six weeks. Can only imagine that now.

At the moment, apart from short stories that I read online during the day, even my night-time reading is restricted to non-fiction. Probably because I’m thinking about writing. Two of the books I’m alternating between are Short Circuit – A Guide to the Art of the Short Story edited by Vanessa Gebbie and Stephen King’s On Writing, both of which are re-reads but they fill my head up with good and useful stuff, appease my work ethic, are exceptionally enjoyable AND set me off in the right frame of mind the following day.

Links:

Short Circuit: A Guide to the Art of the Short Story.
Ed Vanessa Gebbie (Salt Publishing)

Via The Book Depository:
On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft. Stephen King

