James Turrell at the Gagosian Gallery

One of my favourite artists, James Turrell, has a new exhibition which opened at the Gagosian Gallery (London) yesterday.

If I could use only six words to describe his approach, I’d say: Turrell uses light to construct art.

He says: I have an interest in the invisible light, the light perceptible only in the mind… I want to address the light that we see in dreams…

The work exhibited at the Gagosian is (comparatively) small scale using wood, (computerised) neon and glass.

To see how he manipulates natural light on a grand scale, check out this clip (with Alan Yentob) on the Roden Crater project here – or (what I did) visit the permanent Turrell Skyscape at Yorkshire Sculpture Park.

[Above: Sustaining Light, 2007]

Exhibition at Gagosian Gallery:
October 13 – December 10, 2010
6-24 Britannia Street, London WC1X 9JD
T. 44.207.841.9960 F. 44.207.841.9961
Hours: Tue-Sat 10-6

