A River of Stones

I’ve been taking a break from writing for just over a month. I’m not a writing machine and I know when I need to recharge. Anyone who took part in NaNoWriMo and churned out over 50,000 words in a month will understand.

So for the past four or five weeks I’ve been doing other things. I reviewed a book (Patrick Cullen’s What Came Between); I started and (almost) finished a knitting project (a cardigan, here, if you want a peep) and at the last minute put together (and thoroughly enjoyed) a family Christmas.

But now it’s January and I’ve got the sort of itchy fingers that knitting doesn’t cure. Worse, because of the pre-Christmas upheaval, I couldn’t find my writing notebook. Then I kept coming across these wonderful little nuggets of prose on Twitter hashtagged #aros (a river of stones) and that was all it took to lure me back in.

A River of Stones is “an international project started by FionaKaspa to encourage people to engage with the world through writing a short observational piece every day during January.” It’s not too late to take part, just click here for more info.

And yes, I found the notebook. It was hiding under something else. No, I haven’t taken the decorations down yet, and no, I don’t expect I’ll finish my knitting as soon as I thought I was going to, but …

